PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Widgets



videomanjon
09-10-2010, 03:18 PM
HI Dan or Support:

When I go to Appearance > Widgets in my Wordpress Dashboard, and I drag the Custom Menu Over to the Right Sidebar, that's fine.

But when I go to type in a Menu Name like Recent Entries, and then (as you can see from the screenshot attached to this Forum Post Thread), it shows the URL, the Navigation Label, and the Title Attribute.

But can I Add More Entries under Recent Entries, without having double listings, like if you go to http//www.promoterpower.com/blog right now, you will see what I mean under the #
Stop Writing Emails, Start Speaking Video Emails

* Recent Entries

* Recent Entries

Where both of them say: Jon Lutz Promoter Power Video Email Systems. If you click on either of those, it takes you here:

http://1072311.tourtalkfusion.com.

But, instead of having 2 of these entries, can I add another one, in the Wordpress Dashboard, and more then one more entry, that would say something like this:

URL: http://app.talkfusion.com/fusion2/view.asp?NjAwNzI4_3786359 or tinyurl shortened link for this is: http://tinyurl.com/2e83z3u
However, if I go and add this to my Blog on the Navigation on the left (the long URL), when I clicked on the Recent Entries for this long URL, from the www.promoterpower.com/blog, it said that I had an Invalid ID in the Browser. But if you actually click on http://app.talkfusion.com/fusion2/view.asp?NjAwNzI4_3786359, or http://tinyurl.com/2e83z3u, it goes to my video. I even tried http://www.app.talkfusion.com/fusion2/view.asp?NjAwNzI4_3786359, and that works, by itself, but not from the Recent Entries on the right hand Navigation Panel. Why is that?

I tried to go watch a video on how to do Widgets at http://www.socratestheme.com/downloads/wp/wp-tutorials/. But all it had were these, and I went through all of them, and didn't see one with how to work With Widgets or Custom Menu. Actually I did find the How To Use Widgets at: http://www.socratestheme.com/downloads/how-to-use-widgets/. I watched the entire Video (Awesome), but it didn't help me with this issue.

Can you help me?

Thank you,

Jon Lutz
Promoter Power LLC

Dan Nickerson
09-10-2010, 07:28 PM
Jon,

I'm a bit confused by your post.

I haven't used this function of Wordpress yet, so I don't have an answer for you. It's not a function of Socrates.

Can you just try adding links to the menu to see what happens?

If not can you rephrase your question in a different way? I've been staring at it for five minutes and I'm lost.

You might want to search Wordpress.org for the answer.. We don't do anything with the new Wordpress menus in our theme.

videomanjon
09-11-2010, 10:49 AM
HI Dan:

In reply to this below, which you sent me on 9/10/2010:

on,

I'm a bit confused by your post.

I haven't used this function of Wordpress yet, so I don't have an answer for you. It's not a function of Socrates.

Can you just try adding links to the menu to see what happens?

If not can you rephrase your question in a different way? I've been staring at it for five minutes and I'm lost.

You might want to search Wordpress.org for the answer.. We don't do anything with the new Wordpress menus in our theme.
__________________
Dan Nickerson
Socrates Admin

I tried to add links to the menu and that didn't work. I did watch a couple of videos on YouTube on How to Create A Custom WordPress Navigation Manager With Menu Manager, which I installed as a Plugin: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJDAOmT807A&p=E28D0475A7C5E518&playnext=1&index=56.

I think I might just try to add these links and drag Link Widget Over to the Primary Sidebar. Or even put them as Pages.

One more thing: I just Downloaded Socrates Theme 2.03 this morning (Saturday, 9/11/2010), but when you go to www.promoterpower.com/blog, you will see the Reseller Goodies Horizontal Widget at the top, above the Header. I have looked in all of my Widgets, the Code for the Header, etc., and cannot find the HTML Code anywhere for this. It wasn't there before this morning (9/11/2010) when I Upgraded to Socrates Theme 2.03. So I have NO idea where this is coming from?

I did see that there were 2 Inactive Widgets in my WordPress Dashboard, with the Code for this Widget, but I deleted both of them from the Inactive Widgets. Here is that Code for the Horizontal Widget for Reseller Goodies:

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.resellergoodies.com/swfobject.js"></script><script type="text/javascript">var email_address="email_address@domain.com";var user_id="6233";var widget="0";</script><script src="http://www.resellergoodies.com/widgets/horizontal/widget_6.js"></script>

But I cannot find it anywhere, even in the Theme Codes. WOW, this is confusing me!!!

Thank you,

Jon Lutz
Promoter Power LLC

lynnth
09-11-2010, 11:24 AM
That script is showing up directly after your analytics code. Check the Socrates layout page and make sure it didn't get pasted into your analytics box somehow. That would get it into your page without being in any PHP file.

Dan Nickerson
09-11-2010, 11:26 AM
You must have pasted the code for the ad widget in the analytics section of the old version of Socrates.

In 2.03 we changed the location of the analytics to comply with Google's new recommendations.

Goto your dashboard and Socrates > Layout

Remove the Ad widget code from the Analytics section and then goto

Appearance > Editor > Footer.php

And in that code look for this text.


<!-- You can insert text or html here to appear below bottom widget -->

Paste your ad widget code there.