PDA

View Full Version : Why is my layout messed up and sidebar gone?



Dan Nickerson
11-29-2010, 03:55 PM
Misformatted html code can wreak havoc on any site design.

With so many people adding links, image links, div styles and other html code to posts and widgets, invariably bad code will get used.

If you see your sidebar drop below your posts, or the footer image appear at top of posts then chances are you have an extra div or "a" tag in your code.

Check all your the links or banner image codes you manually entered in Socrates layout fields or widgets.

Look for an extra or missing "a" tag. Every open <a> tag needs a closing </a> tag Every open <div> tag needs a closing </div> tag.

If there's no issue with your widgets or layout fields then the problem might be in a post.

Open each post in a new window.. the good posts will look normal, the bad post will look misformatted.

Edit that post and look for an extra or missing tag and that should solve the problem.

socratesjc
01-11-2011, 04:55 AM
I saw your forum post regarding this problem, but I've got a curious twist on this. My blog looks fine in Firefox, but it's on Internet Explorer that the side bar appears below the posts.

Why would that happen?

I've removed all the widgets and then the page listings appears below the posts.

So even with no widgets, the problem exists in IE. ???

Thanks for your help.

JC

lynnth
01-11-2011, 05:52 AM
Then the problem is mis-matched tags in either an ad block or a post on the page. Some browsers can correctly guess what the HTML is trying to do even if the tags don't all match up. IE rarely can.

socratesjc
01-11-2011, 08:38 PM
You were right! Thanks. I really appreciate your help.

I was missing a tag in an ad block.

bodovan
06-08-2011, 09:09 AM
I have a similar problem with my primary and optional sidebars on one of my sites.
When I'm in my homepage - somehow these sidebars showing at the bottom of my posts, but when I click on my posts - everything looks perfect inside. Sidebars are in the right place.

And by the way - I tried to open this site in different browsers - still the same problem.
I also checked the ad block coding - everything is fine! What can cause a problem in this case?

Dan Nickerson
06-08-2011, 09:48 AM
Can you share your link? It's impossible to answer without.

bodovan
06-08-2011, 11:05 AM
http://decorating.homegarden-ideas.com/

I just checked it again - and now it seems to be working fine... hmmm...
I don't know what was a problem... but both sidebars where underneath posts... and I couldn't do anything about it...

Dan Nickerson
06-08-2011, 11:29 AM
Most likely it was your ads overrunning divs... and something got resized to correct it.

To be honest you're running too many ads.. You should remove the inpost adsense ad.. it's just too much for your visitors.

bodovan
06-08-2011, 12:26 PM
Thanks for suggestions!

I'm just trying to test different ad locations for better results.

jronc23
08-03-2011, 04:36 AM
All of my tags are showing up on home page instead of inside post-only. I want to hide them from the home page so that they are only visible when that post is opened.
http://www.myipadapps.com

Dan Nickerson
08-03-2011, 09:41 AM
In appearance > editor > index.php

Make a backup of index.php and then...

Find this..


<span class="meta-sep">|</span>
<?php endif; ?>
<?php
$tags_list = get_the_tag_list( '', ', ' );
if ( $tags_list ):
?>
<span class="tag-links">
<?php printf( __( '<span class="%1$s">Tags</span> %2$s', 'socrates' ), 'entry-utility-prep entry-utility-prep-tag-links', $tags_list ); ?>
</span>and change to



<span class="meta-sep"></span>
<?php endif; ?>

jronc23
08-03-2011, 10:27 AM
Great. Worked perfectly. Thanks much!