PDA

View Full Version : Error Message every time I load 3.2

platinumts
04-19-2012, 09:21 PM
OK, I am completely new to Word Press and Socrates. I loaded Socrates with no problem before but now with this new 3.2 Im having problems. I keeep getting this message.

Unpacking the package…
Installing the theme…
Destination folder already exists. /home/content/92/8615892/html/wp-content/themes/socrates/
Theme install failed.

Do I have to delete the older version first before I load the new one and if so, how do you do that. I have tried but am so frustrated.

Dan Nickerson
04-19-2012, 10:14 PM
Yes, you have to delete the prior theme. Your settings will be saved.

We have upgrade instructions on the download page, right below the download.

Save any custom css, headers or backgrounds to your desktop
Download Zip
Open your domain’s WordPress dashboard
Goto Appearance > Themes and activate another theme… “default” is fine.
Once Socrates is inactive “delete it” (you won’t lose settings)
Goto Appearance > Add New Themes then click “upload”
Locate Zip file on hard drive and upload
Activate Socrates
Use Activation Code above to validate your license. (not necessary if already active)
Check your headers and reupload any custom header or backgrounds
Important – Resave Layout Section and Navigation Section! (not necessary for 3.0)
If you’re upgrading to Socrates 3.0 you must setup WordPress Menus!

platinumts
04-23-2012, 08:55 PM
step 4: after going to Appearance> There is no activate another theme button anywhere and in the Manage Themes Tab it shows the Old 2.3Socrates Them, there are no Activate-Preview-Delete buttons.

Dan Nickerson
04-23-2012, 09:59 PM
Did you delete the default themes that came with Wordpress? If so just click search for Twenty Ten, install that theme.. then activate... then you can delete Socrates.

Kelly Marsh
04-24-2012, 04:26 PM
When I follow the instructions above, and click Activate, the resulting page is blank.
Preview also results in a blank page.