PDA

View Full Version : RSS feed widget



lizv
08-06-2010, 12:25 PM
Hi,
I hope that I am asking this question in the correct part of the forum.

I have added the RSS widget to the Widget left section of my website. I input the feed address as:
http://whisperinggardener.com/feed/

and saved the info.

When I click on the RSS Whispering Gardener Feed link, the address shows without the /feed/ part of the URL.

My other RSS feed that scrolls at the top of my site works perfectly.

Any ideas about why the address lops off the /feed/ info?

Thanks in advance.
Liz

Dan Nickerson
08-07-2010, 01:14 PM
That's an issue with the widget.

Check the widget's settings. You can see the icon next to it is linked correctly.

Honestly there's no reason to use that widget.. It's just displaying your recent posts which you can do much better with a recent posts widget.

lizv
08-07-2010, 06:03 PM
...
Honestly there's no reason to use that widget.. It's just displaying your recent posts which you can do much better with a recent posts widget.

Thanks for the info Dan. Much appreciated. I did check the icon and I see what you are saying.

Cheers,
Liz

aquarius18
08-12-2010, 06:00 AM
Hi,

I have another RSS related question.

I was able to add RSS url from GoArticles in the sidebar using the RSS widget. But, I am not able to obtain or place rss from other article dierctories. Do I have to install a new plugin and also how do I get the rss url from ezine articles and other directories ?



Regards

Dan Nickerson
08-12-2010, 12:30 PM
You should be able to drag multiple RSS widgets to your sidebar in Appearance > Widgets

You can get the RSS url by going to http://www.ezinearticles.com/rss

If you goto the site, it's clearly labeled in the left hand sidebar.

The best way to find an RSS feed for any site is to simply visit that site and look for a link labeled "RSS" or the standard orange RSS graphic.

srf1643
10-27-2010, 06:07 PM
I installed the rss widget into the primary sidebar and pasted a RSS link from google news. Problem is it does not open another window or tab causing my visitors to leave my site. Can I change this to open in a new window?

Thanks,
Steve Frey

Dan Nickerson
10-27-2010, 06:25 PM
http://www.google.com/search?q=open+rss+widget+links+in+new+window

srf1643
10-27-2010, 06:53 PM
Worked great. The feed you send offered me the ezine: http://ezinearticles.com/?How-to-Customize-WordPress-RSS-Feed-Widget-Or-Sidebar&id=3884414

This new widget worked perfectly!