Please Read First
Troubleshooting Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
Before Posting Please Disable Wp Super Cache Plugin
When Posting Please Include Your URL.
Search Forum Using Google Search Box Above
Forum Video

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    252
    Rep Power
    5

    Default How do i make my home page a static page?

    How do i make my home page a static page?

    I have tried to set it up using navigation area of Socrates, but unless I make a post, I get the not found message, I do want to have a blog, but I want my home page to be a static page
    Cheers, Gordon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Gordon,

    This is a WordPress feature. Go to the Reading page under Settings. Select Static home page and pick which page you want it to be.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    252
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Thanks so much for your prompt reply, I guess that was quite a silly question I asked there

    Anyway, I have set the link for my home page, a few more questions if I may

    I entered in text, but there is a gap before the text, so there is a fair bit of white space, any ideas what is the cause of that?

    Also, say I wanted a few other links from my right footer na and also a link or two from the main top nav bar to also point to this home page, what is the best way to go about that? Use a plugin like page links to? would that be the handies way, or is there an easier way to do it?

    Quote Originally Posted by lynnth View Post
    Gordon,

    This is a WordPress feature. Go to the Reading page under Settings. Select Static home page and pick which page you want it to be.
    Cheers, Gordon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    I'm not sure about the white space. Please post a link to the site and I can look. As far as the links, it all sounds like things you can setup in the Socrates Navigation page.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    252
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Just playing around getting used to the theme at the moment Lynne, the link is at:

    http://resources.whoisgordonmartin.com/

    Quote Originally Posted by lynnth View Post
    I'm not sure about the white space. Please post a link to the site and I can look. As far as the links, it all sounds like things you can setup in the Socrates Navigation page.
    Cheers, Gordon

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    I see some white space at the top of your main keyword post. It comes from a Google Adsense block you put into the in-post ad block. Google isn't supplying any ads for that block yet. Most likely due to the lack of content. They don't know what would be appropriate yet.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    252
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    So those in post ads will be there, unless they are removed using the appearance editor in wp? I have not setup Google Adsense yet, just really becoming familar with the theme Lynne, so I appreciate your patience in answering these questions

    What is the custom html ads at the bottom of the layout page in Socrates then? Where do they appear?

    Is there any way to have the adsense ads on some pages, and not on others, it seems that they will show up on terms and conditions pages, and privacy policy pages, is that right?

    Quote Originally Posted by lynnth View Post
    I see some white space at the top of your main keyword post. It comes from a Google Adsense block you put into the in-post ad block. Google isn't supplying any ads for that block yet. Most likely due to the lack of content. They don't know what would be appropriate yet.
    Last edited by gordonmartin; 08-23-2010 at 09:56 AM.
    Cheers, Gordon

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    If the boxes are empty in the Socrates layout page they should not appear in your posts. These only show up in posts - not pages.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    252
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Hi Lynn, both top and bottom adsense ads boxes are empty, but I am having that space above pages and posts, any other ideas as to what could be causing it? Do I need to uncheck something?

    Post Display Settings

    Settings to control how individual posts are displayed.
    Show author, date and comments link below title on individual post pages.

    should the post display settings be off, or is that only in relation to author comments, date etc?

    Quote Originally Posted by lynnth View Post
    If the boxes are empty in the Socrates layout page they should not appear in your posts. These only show up in posts - not pages.
    Cheers, Gordon

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    That is only for the author, date, & time. Check and make sure there isn't a space in the boxes. All it takes is one character and a space could be there and you wouldn't see it.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

Similar Threads

  1. How do I make ONLY static pages?
    By Dale in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 12:11 PM
  2. Home Page Won't Show Posts, Only Newest Page
    By cbeck in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 03:36 AM
  3. Home page
    By Vickie in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-28-2010, 10:03 AM
  4. How do you make an article page?
    By tlrademaker in forum Community Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 12:42 PM
  5. Static Home page not displayed
    By lynnth in forum Bug Reporting and Fixes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-08-2010, 04:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •