Please Read First
Troubleshooting Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
Before Posting Please Disable Wp Super Cache Plugin
When Posting Please Include Your URL.
Search Forum Using Google Search Box Above
Forum Video

Results 1 to 10 of 16

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    252
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Is there a way of removing the main nav bar from the salespage.php

    I removed this code from my salespage.php

    <div class="navigation">

    <div class="alignleft"></div>

    <div class="alignright"></div>

    </div>

    bit it did not do the trick.

    What I am trying to do is to have the main nav bar on the default page but not the salespage, is that possible?

    I know that we can switch off the main nav bar in the Socrates control panel, but it switches it off both pages.

    I also know that we can switch off the blog header in the posts area for the pages, and that does turn off the nav bar, but it also removes the header

    Anyone any ideas?

    Any and all comments appreciated

    Warmest Regards,

    Gordon
    Cheers, Gordon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    252
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Anyone any ideas on this one, I know another possible solution would be to place the actual header within the post, just looking for a few ideas

    Probkem I see with the idea of adding the header in the post is that it would look better if it was right at the top and stretching right to the edges in width, not sure how to do that though? Have a look at:

    http://worldwidevideoproduction.com/one-video-offer

    to see what I mean
    Last edited by gordonmartin; 02-23-2011 at 03:01 AM.
    Cheers, Gordon

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,528
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Sorry for delay.

    That code your removed was for page navigation in bottom of post area.

    Resize your header to 971 in width, then adjust this css code to fit.

    .im-header { position:relative; min-height:150px; padding:5px 0px; left:10px; width:960px; margin:-43px 0px 0px; z-index:3 }

    Change padding:5px to 0px and adjust the left padding and see if that centers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    252
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Hi Dan

    See http://worldwidevideoproduction.com/single-video

    I did as you said, made the width of the header 971 and adjusted the code from 960 to 971

    I also made the padding 0 and made the left 0 as well

    It still is not the way I wanted it

    I wanted it to look like right up at the top and full width to the edges same as what it is at http://worldwidevideoproduction.com

    Problem is I cannot add in the blog header like that without also adding in the main Nav bar

    Is there a way to elimate the main nav bar from the salespages? Or is that going to be too complicated?

    Thanks Dan
    Cheers, Gordon

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,528
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    It looks like you pulled out the header from the page.

    There's no <div class="im-header"> in your source which controls the positioning of the header and you added it to post.

    I'll add disabling the navigation bar as the possible feature.

    The fastest way to customize would be to duplicate your header.php file and name it header2.php

    Comment out or remove

    <!-- Main Nav -->
    <?php if (!$primaryNav['display']) { ?>
    <div class="im-nav"><a href="<?php bloginfo('url') ?>/wp-admin/admin.php?page=functions.php">Please configure in Socrates Admin Panel</a></div><!-- /close im-nav -->
    <?php } else if ($primaryNav['display'] == 'block' ){ ?>
    <div class="im-nav">
    <?php
    socrates_generate_nav_links($primaryNav, '');
    ?>
    </div><!-- /close im-nav -->
    <?php } else {?>
    <div class="im-nav" style="background:none"></div><!-- /close im-nav -->
    <?php } ?>
    from header2.php

    In salespage.php change

    get_header();

    to

    get_header2();

    Should take about a minute to do.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    252
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    I have tried that Dan, now I am getting a fatal error:

    Fatal error: Call to undefined function get_header2() in /home/videopro/public_html/wp-content/themes/socrates/salespage.php on line 27
    Cheers, Gordon

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    252
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Started new thread
    Last edited by gordonmartin; 02-27-2011 at 10:49 PM. Reason: started new thread
    Cheers, Gordon

Similar Threads

  1. A Blank Page In Place of Salespage.php
    By gordonmartin in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2011, 01:39 AM
  2. Error With Wp Supercache and the salespage
    By gordonmartin in forum Plugins
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 04:02 AM
  3. How Do You Get Salespage as your home page?
    By michael14 in forum Community Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-07-2010, 05:35 PM
  4. Cannot make a Salespage as my homepage
    By michael14 in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-03-2010, 02:16 PM
  5. main url problem
    By stevehunt in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-27-2010, 05:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •