Please Read First
Troubleshooting Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
Before Posting Please Disable Wp Super Cache Plugin
When Posting Please Include Your URL.
Search Forum Using Google Search Box Above
Forum Video

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1

    Default Question about H1 Tag

    Hey Dan,

    I thought that the post header is in H1 tag. I checked my pages using http://www.givegoodweb.com/tools/page-check/ and according to the tool the header is not in H1 tag...

    For example:

    The post = http://fx-tradeonline.com/what-is-the-best-fx-indicator

    Post header = What Is The Best FX Indicator

    How can I configure Socrates Theme to show the post header in H1 tag?

    Thanks,

    Nir

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    With Socrates the site title in the header uses the H1 tag. The post title should be an H2.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  3. #3

    Default

    How can I change the post header to be H1 too?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    In the Socrates Layout setting there is a check box under post display settings to set the post title to be H1 as well.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  5. #5

    Default

    I can't find such option under the socrates layout...could you please attach print screen?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Are you running version 2.2.14?
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,531
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    You're using an old version of Socrates.

    If you don't wish to upgrade goto

    Appearance > Editor > Single.php

    Look for <h2> and </h2> in code and change to <h1> and </h1>

  8. #8

    Default

    I upgraded to version 2.2.14 and now I see this option .
    Now when I"m running the SEO check the tool telling me:

    "You have too many Header 1's! (2)
    You should consider making more use of <h2> through <h6> tags, and not diluting your <h1> tag with more than one occurrence."

    "(It's best to avoid links in your Heading 1 tag.)"

    Does the search engine consider the title as a link?
    What will be better for SEO - use H1 for title or H2?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    With WordPress titles are links to a page with just that post. It doesn't matter where the H1 tag is for SEO purposes as long as it contains your keywords. The deafult with Socrates is to have your site keywords in your header and that is why it is a H1. There is no conclusive proof that a second H1 tag on your page will count against you though.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  10. #10

Similar Threads

  1. Design Question
    By bobm in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 12:48 AM
  2. Simple Question
    By rickblackmon in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-06-2010, 06:17 AM
  3. New Domain question
    By maresp in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-24-2010, 08:21 PM
  4. CSS question
    By jag66 in forum Graphics and Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 06:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •