Please Read First
Troubleshooting Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
Before Posting Please Disable Wp Super Cache Plugin
When Posting Please Include Your URL.
Search Forum Using Google Search Box Above
Forum Video

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    256
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Seen that term used on the net and on this forum before. What's involved to do this?
    Brad
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Primary Wordpress sites using Socrates:
    www.primalhealth.co
    www.bradrasmus.com
    www.healthprowebsites.com

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,505
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Goto your Socrates dashboard > Styling in your install and you'll see info on it.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    256
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Hmmm not sure if I can confidently do that. Should all the changes I've made be recorded within the child css and functions files?

    So far all the changes I've made the changed back yesterday when changing versions were things like:

    - Custom css entries
    - remove 'comments are closed'
    - use of tabber tabs widget on right sidebar
    - change Category Header from H@ to H1 and change the colour
    - Feature Image to show next to each post in blog roll
    - addition of flexpage template
    etc

    All of this can be saved within a child theme yes? Is there a plugin that can do all this for me? Seems to be one for everything else Else I'll give it a go as I can see it being a pain in the arse each time I upgrade.

    Is this best to do after I've finished making all the changes I need done before upgrading?
    Last edited by Brazmus; 03-22-2012 at 10:59 PM.
    Brad
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Primary Wordpress sites using Socrates:
    www.primalhealth.co
    www.bradrasmus.com
    www.healthprowebsites.com

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,505
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I'm not aware of a plugin. It's possible.

    It's really not that complex. Basically you upload a folder with the sample stylesheet and activate it. Then if you've changed individual pages you move them to that folder.

    Entries in the custom css box stay the same.
    Widgets would stay the same
    Featured images would stay the same unless you edited a template.
    And you'd just put the flexpage template in the child folder.

    If you're really happy with your Socrates setup, you don't need to upgrade Socrates.

    But if you want to I'd wait until final release of 3.0 and then make the child theme.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    256
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Ok will take your word for it. So basically I should go back and look at everything I've changed whilst it's fresh in my mind and copy into a new folder the docos I've changed ready for when I'm wanting to upgrade to V3 correct? I just want that feature slider to be easier to mange on the homepage compared to the way I was going to do it.

    Then I'll re-ask you how to do the child theme should I run into a problem when reading the Wordpress instructions.

    Thanks again Dan
    Brad
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Primary Wordpress sites using Socrates:
    www.primalhealth.co
    www.bradrasmus.com
    www.healthprowebsites.com

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    256
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    You'll be pleased to know that I just spent a couple of hours going over the forum posts I've made and have now put together a Wordpad of all the changes I done to the theme and things related that I think would change when upgrading to 3.o based on what happened last time and what you said before. I've copied the altered archives, comments, flexpage, and header PHP files. So when it comes to the CHILD theme I'll be prepared to give it a crack and get your help if you don't mind.

    Till then, since the change over and the stuff ups that occured I still can't change on this page www.primalhealth.co:

    - the background colour of the mailchimp box
    - remove the extra gap at the top of the screen between the image and the top.

    With regards to the gap, YES I inspected the area with Chrome (not firebug) and it shows some <p> tags existing there but when I check my EDIT POST code it looks like this from the top:

    <center>
    <table style="display: inline-table; width: 490px;" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
    <tbody>
    <tr>
    <td><img src="http://primalhealth.co/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/spacer.gif" alt="" width="203" height="1" border="0" /></td>
    What do you think?
    Last edited by Brazmus; 03-24-2012 at 05:55 AM.
    Brad
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Primary Wordpress sites using Socrates:
    www.primalhealth.co
    www.bradrasmus.com
    www.healthprowebsites.com

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,505
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I don't mind helping users with Socrates sites, but when it comes to customizing the theme to not look anything like Socrates I do have to draw the line somewhere.

    Please remember that every time I look at a site, view the source, come up with an answer, and respond on the forum, it probably costs me about $50 of my time.

    I've done this about 10-20 times so far on this site.

    I'm not complaining I'm just trying to make you aware that there has to be a limit here when helping users with customizing the code.

    As far as the background I gave you a fix for that on another thread. If it doesn't work in the custom css you need to check with Mailchimp to see if you can change their remote css.

    According to Firebug the top of your page has the p tags and there's a spacer gif that can be removed.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    256
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Sure Dan. I've certainly got my money's worth from you I had a heap of time available last night after my daughter went to bed and my wife went to work hence the reason you were bombarded with all forum replies. Very keen to get the site done. Just trying to get as much done myself / or via the forum through you / lynthh / Fred or anyone else prior to employing a coder. Really appreciate all you have done so far mate.

    I'll get the coders that I will employ to make the child theme before I upgrade then. No worries. The gap, I'll keep looking for where I worked that out with your help.
    Brad
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Primary Wordpress sites using Socrates:
    www.primalhealth.co
    www.bradrasmus.com
    www.healthprowebsites.com

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,505
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Thanks, appreciate it.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Hello,
    regarding sidebars can pages be set up with individual sidebars? Thank you for your reply.
    J. Schultz

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-01-2012, 10:44 AM
  2. Remove Sub-Categories in Sidebar
    By ssheldon in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2010, 01:09 PM
  3. Remove sidebar from certain pages
    By taeri in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2010, 05:52 PM
  4. How To Remove Pages In Sidebar!
    By markandroena in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-10-2010, 11:04 AM
  5. How To Remove The Right Sidebar
    By faraox in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 02:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •