Please Read First
Troubleshooting Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
Before Posting Please Disable Wp Super Cache Plugin
When Posting Please Include Your URL.
Search Forum Using Google Search Box Above
Forum Video

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Socrates 3.03

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    134
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Socrates 3.03

    I downloaded version 3.03 at least that's what it says on the zip file.
    In my install however it says An updated version of the Socrates theme is available here.
    Installed Version: 3.01 Latest Version: 3.03
    I got the prompt to activate the theme and I pasted my activation code from the Download page
    and when I click on appearance I see Socrates Version 3.0+ and below that it says that this copy of Socrates is not
    activated and to go to the Dashboard and enter the code which I already did and when I go back to Appearance it still has the message that this copy is not activated.
    I went through the Socrates menu and didn't see any of the new features like Portfolio pages or magazine pages.
    What did I do wrong?
    I installed it in a new wordpress install.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    There is a video on the download page on setting up the magazine formats. It is not something that will show up in a menu. It involves setting up a static home page using the magazine template. I'm not sure about the activation issues. Fred or Dan may have some input there.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    134
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Lynn
    I guess Socrates 3.03 loaded ok and that the message I still see must me standard because it doesn't go away after
    I activate. In any case it appears to be working ok.
    Thanks for your patience.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    939
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Sorry about that activation message.

    Your activation should be ok if you see 3.03 next to the icon on the active theme. We will fix this line of code, with the next release soon.
    Leilani Clifford
    - Forum Admin

    ----------------------------
    We're building our Socrates Facebook community! Come visit us, and Like us to stay up to date on everything Socrates
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/socrateswptheme
    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/socratestheme

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Fred I have uploaded 3.03 twice from the upload site and I cant activate it and next to the active theme it says Socrates 3.03 but on the dashboard it says 3.01 is active?
    Quote Originally Posted by Forum Admin View Post
    Sorry about that activation message.
    Your activation should be ok if you see 3.03 next to the icon on the active theme. We will fix this line of code, with the next release soon.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    939
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kempie View Post
    Fred I have uploaded 3.03 twice from the upload site and I cant activate it and next to the active theme it says Socrates 3.03 but on the dashboard it says 3.01 is active?
    Please ignore that line. We are working with our programers to fix this. If you'd like me to double check for you, please send me your site URL and credentials and I'll take a look for you.

    Thanks for your patience.

    -Fred
    Leilani Clifford
    - Forum Admin

    ----------------------------
    We're building our Socrates Facebook community! Come visit us, and Like us to stay up to date on everything Socrates
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/socrateswptheme
    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/socratestheme

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    12
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Hi there,

    I activated the 20 11 Wordpress theme and deleted the old Socrates theme, then tried to upload it, but I got locked out of the backend of the website by a white HTTP 500 error screen. I am not allowed to enter the wp-admin panel to make any corrections.

    I then ftp'd the socrate theme to the site, and tried again to get into the backend with no avail.

    The site is very insercure as I am still logged in. www.electricscootersblog.com

    What am I doing wrong? I would really appreciate help on this one.

    Thanks
    Lou

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    939
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    You can try calling your web host and get their help to log in to the backend via C-panel. They'll help you fix the http 500 error
    Leilani Clifford
    - Forum Admin

    ----------------------------
    We're building our Socrates Facebook community! Come visit us, and Like us to stay up to date on everything Socrates
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/socrateswptheme
    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/socratestheme

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,452
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Via FTP delete Socrates... then try to login to the dashboard.. 2011 should now be active..

    Then try uploading Socrates again..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •