Please Read First
Troubleshooting Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
Note: Appearance issues are often caused by caching plugins.
When Posting Please Include Your URL.
Search Forum Using Google Search Box Above
IMPORTANT: If after forum login, you appear logged out, click on "New Posts". You should show as logged in then. It's a Vbulletin bug.
Forum Video

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Add time to slider

    Hi Dan & all,

    Can you post the breadcrumb trail to adding time to the speed of the slider display? I thought I had seen that in your webinar but now I can't find the exact spot.

    I'd just like to add a few seconds to the post captions and featured images displayed so my readers can read them in detail. Thanks!
    Laura
    http://www.lebauneuworth.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,949
    Rep Power
    14

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Thank you Dan!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Hi Dan, I found this info from the thread, but can you direct me to which location under the Editor section that I would make these changes? I've done a find and replace through the code but can't seem to locate it. Thanks!



    Ah.. yes that will do it.. I didn't look at slug either.

    In this file change

    animSpeed:500
    and
    pauseTime: 3000,

    to higher numbers. It's near the end of code.

    slider/jquery.nivo.slider.pack.js

    You'll have to remember to change this every update.

    Also check out this page
    http://nivo.dev7studios.com/support/...-plugin-usage/

    There's a tutorial and you can probably add the javascript into slider/slider.php to make it easier to edit.

    You're the first person to ask..

    Last edited by Dan Nickerson; 07-11-2012 at 09:30 AM. Reason: added more info

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,949
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    You need to edit via ftp or your file manager. wp-content/themes/socrates/slider/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    hey Dan,
    is it possible to change the transition effect to just one rather than random? can't seem to find how to do it. :/
    thanks!
    Last edited by drumsetc; 08-20-2013 at 01:10 PM. Reason: found the answer to the first question

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,949
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    If you mean just one slide, you'd change the 5 below to a 1

    $wp_query = new WP_Query('posts_per_page=5&category_name=featured' );

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    no no, i meant the type of transition effect between slides. there's a fade out, a side swap with a number of rows, a top swap with a number of columns, etc. is there a way to set it to just one? or can it only be random?

    in jquery.nivo.slider.pack.js, i found this at the very end of the file:

    {effect:"random",slices:15,boxCols:8,boxRows:4,ani mSpeed:500,pauseTime:3e3,startSlide:0,directionNav :true,directionNavHide:true,controlNav:true,contro lNavThumbs:false,controlNavThumbsFromRel:false,con trolNavThumbsSearch:".jpg",controlNavThumbsReplace :"_thumb.jpg",keyboardNav:true,pauseOnHover:true,m anualAdvance:false,captionOpacity:.8,prevText:"Pre v",nextText:"Next",randomStart:false,beforeChange: function(){},afterChange:function(){},slideshowEnd :function(){},lastSlide:function(){},afterLoad:fun ction(){}};a.fn._reverse=[].reverse}

    i tried changing the number of slices, box rows and columns, which helped (less busy), but i want to have just one type of transition. doable?
    thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,949
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    There are a number of tutorials on the nivo slider online. And I've never messed with this code, but my guess would be you'd need to edit scripts/scripts-active.js. I don't have time to test this today.

    On line 48 you'll see:

    $('#slider').nivoSlider();

    and if you read this tutorial you'll see some options to change it.

    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...der-transition

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i put it online as-is for now (www.montrealdrumfest.com), i'll play around with it tomorrow.

    thanks david!

Similar Threads

  1. Change slider rotate time in magazine template
    By siegervinnare in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-24-2014, 09:04 AM
  2. Formatting Social Media Slider
    By merci420 in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2013, 08:05 AM
  3. Issue setting up RSS Feed URL in Slider
    By SuccessCoach7 in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-26-2012, 03:20 PM
  4. Photo slider
    By mack45 in forum Community Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 02:34 PM
  5. Top One Report Featured Post Slider
    By jstyleent in forum Plugins
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 10:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •