Please Read First
Troubleshooting Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
Before Posting Please Disable Wp Super Cache Plugin
When Posting Please Include Your URL.
Search Forum Using Google Search Box Above
Forum Video

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Add time to slider

    Hi Dan & all,

    Can you post the breadcrumb trail to adding time to the speed of the slider display? I thought I had seen that in your webinar but now I can't find the exact spot.

    I'd just like to add a few seconds to the post captions and featured images displayed so my readers can read them in detail. Thanks!
    Laura
    http://www.lebauneuworth.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,533
    Rep Power
    12

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Thank you Dan!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Hi Dan, I found this info from the thread, but can you direct me to which location under the Editor section that I would make these changes? I've done a find and replace through the code but can't seem to locate it. Thanks!



    Ah.. yes that will do it.. I didn't look at slug either.

    In this file change

    animSpeed:500
    and
    pauseTime: 3000,

    to higher numbers. It's near the end of code.

    slider/jquery.nivo.slider.pack.js

    You'll have to remember to change this every update.

    Also check out this page
    http://nivo.dev7studios.com/support/...-plugin-usage/

    There's a tutorial and you can probably add the javascript into slider/slider.php to make it easier to edit.

    You're the first person to ask..

    Last edited by Dan Nickerson; 07-11-2012 at 09:30 AM. Reason: added more info

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,533
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    You need to edit via ftp or your file manager. wp-content/themes/socrates/slider/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    hey Dan,
    is it possible to change the transition effect to just one rather than random? can't seem to find how to do it. :/
    thanks!
    Last edited by drumsetc; 08-20-2013 at 02:10 PM. Reason: found the answer to the first question

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,533
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    If you mean just one slide, you'd change the 5 below to a 1

    $wp_query = new WP_Query('posts_per_page=5&category_name=featured' );

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    no no, i meant the type of transition effect between slides. there's a fade out, a side swap with a number of rows, a top swap with a number of columns, etc. is there a way to set it to just one? or can it only be random?

    in jquery.nivo.slider.pack.js, i found this at the very end of the file:

    {effect:"random",slices:15,boxCols:8,boxRows:4,ani mSpeed:500,pauseTime:3e3,startSlide:0,directionNav :true,directionNavHide:true,controlNav:true,contro lNavThumbs:false,controlNavThumbsFromRel:false,con trolNavThumbsSearch:".jpg",controlNavThumbsReplace :"_thumb.jpg",keyboardNav:true,pauseOnHover:true,m anualAdvance:false,captionOpacity:.8,prevText:"Pre v",nextText:"Next",randomStart:false,beforeChange: function(){},afterChange:function(){},slideshowEnd :function(){},lastSlide:function(){},afterLoad:fun ction(){}};a.fn._reverse=[].reverse}

    i tried changing the number of slices, box rows and columns, which helped (less busy), but i want to have just one type of transition. doable?
    thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,533
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    There are a number of tutorials on the nivo slider online. And I've never messed with this code, but my guess would be you'd need to edit scripts/scripts-active.js. I don't have time to test this today.

    On line 48 you'll see:

    $('#slider').nivoSlider();

    and if you read this tutorial you'll see some options to change it.

    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...der-transition

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i put it online as-is for now (www.montrealdrumfest.com), i'll play around with it tomorrow.

    thanks david!

Similar Threads

  1. Change slider rotate time in magazine template
    By siegervinnare in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-24-2014, 10:04 AM
  2. Formatting Social Media Slider
    By merci420 in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2013, 09:05 AM
  3. Issue setting up RSS Feed URL in Slider
    By SuccessCoach7 in forum Official Support 3.0
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-26-2012, 04:20 PM
  4. Photo slider
    By mack45 in forum Community Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 03:34 PM
  5. Top One Report Featured Post Slider
    By jstyleent in forum Plugins
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 11:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •