Please Read First
Troubleshooting Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
Before Posting Please Disable Wp Super Cache Plugin
When Posting Please Include Your URL.
Search Forum Using Google Search Box Above
Forum Video

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Installing on Existing Blog

    Hi,
    I want to purchase Socrates and would like to know if it can be installed on an existing blog. Is there anything I should be aware of if I do this?
    Thanks, Marilyn

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Assuming your existing blog is based on WordPress you should be good to go. Remember that if you have a caching plug-in installed on the blog, you should deactivate it while the site is in transition or you won't see your changes as you make them.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Thanks so much! Didn't know about the caching plug-in. You just saved me a world of woe.

    Marilyn

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Look under plug-ins and see if you have one called WP Super Cache. That is the only one I know of that some hosts install automatically. Any other you would have had to install yourself.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Posts
    108
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lynnth View Post
    Look under plug-ins and see if you have one called WP Super Cache. That is the only one I know of that some hosts install automatically. Any other you would have had to install yourself.
    That was really helpfull, thanks
    You Will Never Use 'Old' List Building Techniques Again.. http://trck.me/205257/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Just relocated to Anderson SC
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Install

    I installed Socrates, very easily:-) I need to know how to use this for another domain that i own? How do you transfer it to utilize it for another domain name?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    2,732
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    I assume you bought the license that allows you to use Socrates on all of your personal sites. You can just upload the same zip file on your other site.
    Lynn T. Harrison
    Ever Evolving Enterprises
    LynnTHarrison.com (my blog on using WordPress) Testimonials appreciated

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Just relocated to Anderson SC
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Install

    Yes, i did..thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Posts
    108
    Rep Power
    5

    Default cpanel

    I switched to installing through cpanel into the themes directory, works a treat.
    You Will Never Use 'Old' List Building Techniques Again.. http://trck.me/205257/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •