Please Read First
Troubleshooting Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
Before Posting Please Disable Wp Super Cache Plugin
When Posting Please Include Your URL.
Search Forum Using Google Search Box Above
Forum Video

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Age
    49
    Posts
    59
    Rep Power
    5

    Default remove archives widget

    How do I remove the archives widget. I know this must seem like a silly question...but I have not put any widgets into the sidebar. This must be a default setting in the Socrates theme.

    As well, how do I remove the post count for each category? I think this is a default setting as well.

    Help please.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    328
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    The archive and posts are not widgets, just part of the dynamic sidebar code.

    To remove them from your page simply drag any widget onto the sidebar, even a blank text one will do.

    As soon as a widget is placed there the default code will vanish
    Phil Horsepool
    Creative Web Design
    Web Design and SEO Services
    for Marketers and Small Businesses

    Video Brander Software - Free Trial Copy

    Create Explosive Backlinks - Free Download

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Age
    49
    Posts
    59
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Thanks...about the time you sent this reply...I discovered that if I dragged any widget to the side bar...the dynamic side bar code disappeared! Thanks,

    Do you know how I can disable the viewing of Author bios?

    I want the author to show up for each post...I just don't want the ability for people to click on the name and view the history or personal info put in.

    Thanks,
    Burt

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,387
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    If you just have one author the easiest way to do this is edit index.php and single.php and replace

    <?php the_author_posts_link(); ?>

    with

    Author Name

    Essentially you hard code it without a link.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Age
    49
    Posts
    59
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Have Several Authors

    what do I do with several authors???

    I have 7 in total.

    Burt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,387
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Try replacing with

    <?php the_author_firstname(); ?> <?php the_author_lastname(); ?>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Age
    49
    Posts
    59
    Rep Power
    5

    Default IT Worked!

    Thanks....it worked!

    Now how about changing the font size in the 150 sidebar to match the font size in the middle of the page.

    For some reason...when choosing the 150 sidebar option...the text in the side bar is tiny.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Age
    49
    Posts
    59
    Rep Power
    5

    Default oh..no...I spoke too soon

    Dan,

    I replaced what you said with <?php the_author_firstname(); ?> <?php the_author_lastname(); ?>

    It worked for the index.php and the single.php but...

    when I click on categories...the bios are still clickable in the post there???

    Help please.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,387
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Open the CSS folder via FTP, look for StyleBothSides

    Change font percentage in this line

    .im-sidebar { padding:0px 5px 5px 15px; float:left; width:160px; border-right:3px double #e2e2e2; height:100%; margin-bottom:5px; font-size:70%}

    Change categories author link in archives.php

    Look for <?php the_author_posts_link(); ?> and replace

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Age
    49
    Posts
    59
    Rep Power
    5

    Default I think that fixed it!

    ok...I think that fixed it! We just had to find all the link, but now it works...

    Thanks greatly!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •