Please Read First
Troubleshooting Tips
Frequently Asked Questions
Note: Appearance issues are often caused by caching plugins.
When Posting Please Include Your URL.
Search Forum Using Google Search Box Above
IMPORTANT: If after forum login, you appear logged out, click on "New Posts". You should show as logged in then. It's a Vbulletin bug.
Forum Video

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 59
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    22
    Rep Power
    0

    Default adjusting side bars

    Thanks for the post on adjusting sidebars.

    It was easy with your directions. I added exactly the same amount that I subtracted from the side bar to the page width.

    For example, I decreased the 300 px side bar to 250. I increased the width from 622 to 672. Everything looks great!





    /* ------------------------------------- Content -------------------------------------------------------------- */
    .im-mainContent { padding:0px 10px 0px 10px; border-left:3px double #e2e2e2; width:672px; float:right; left:-5px; }
    .im-sidebar { padding:0px 5px 5px 15px; float:left; width:260px; border-right:3px double #e2e2e2; height:100%; margin-bottom:5px;}
    .im-sidebar2 { display:none;}

    .sidebar ul { width:250px; list-style:none; left:-12px; position:relative}
    .sidebar li { margin:0px 0px 10px;}
    .sidebar li li { position:relative; margin:1px 0px 2px 20px;}

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I'm afraid that doesn't do what I need to achieve...

    Take this site for example, I've set the sidebar left width to 160:

    http://www.cataloguesforbadcredit.com/

    The bottom navigation to pages has indeed shrunk. However the main text/content is still halfway across the page, far away from the Adsense adverts.

    How do I get that content closer to those adverts please?


    Thank


    Alan

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,908
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    Change

    @charset "utf-8";
    /* CSS Document */


    /* ------------------------------------- Content -------------------------------------------------------------- */
    .im-mainContent { padding:0px 10px 0px 10px; border-left:3px double #e2e2e2; width:759px; float:right; left:-5px; }
    .im-sidebar { padding:0px 5px 5px 15px; float:left; width:165px; border-right:3px double #e2e2e2; height:100%; margin-bottom:5px;}
    .im-sidebar2 { display:none;}

    .sidebar ul { width:165px; list-style:none; left:-12px; position:relative}
    .sidebar li { margin:0px 0px 10px;}
    .sidebar li li { position:relative; margin:1px 0px 2px 20px;}


    to


    @charset "utf-8";
    /* CSS Document */


    /* ------------------------------------- Content -------------------------------------------------------------- */
    .im-mainContent { padding:0px 10px 0px 10px; border-left:3px double #e2e2e2; width:757px; float:right; left:-5px; }
    .im-sidebar { padding:0px 5px 5px 15px; float:left; width:175px; border-right:3px double #e2e2e2; height:100%; margin-bottom:5px;}
    .im-sidebar2 { display:none;}

    .sidebar ul { width:165px; list-style:none; left:-12px; position:relative}
    .sidebar li { margin:0px 0px 10px;}
    .sidebar li li { position:relative; margin:1px 0px 2px 20px;}



  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Not sure if I did exactly what you've done there but I found changing the width of the content itself seems to have done the trick:

    "e2e2e2; width:762px; float:right"

    Leaves quite a neat little double gray line while making the adverts impossible to miss


    Cheers,



    Alan

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,908
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    The double double line is not a good thing though. They should align.

    If you can humor me and just make the changes I bolded I think you'll like it better. If not, and you're happy now that's fine.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Perfectionist eh?

    I kinnda like the pinstripe effect...


    OK, done.





    Thanks



    Alan

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    New problem - I noticed the site seems incredibly slow to load, so tried logging into admin to install a cache plugin.

    Noticed this:

    Warning: array_slice() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given in /public_html/cataloguesforbadcredit/wp-content/themes/socrates/functions.php on line 160

    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /public_html/cataloguesforbadcredit/wp-content/themes/socrates/functions.php on line 163


    ??


    AC

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Had a look at those lines, this doesn't mean anything to me:

    $rss = fetch_rss($rss_feed);

    $rss->items = array_slice($rss->items, 0, 6);

    $channel = $rss->channel;



    foreach ($rss->items as $item ) {

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    7,908
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    We just had a DNS issue that's been resolved, if the problem persists let me know.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    36
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    So not in the Editor on WP but in the webhost file is where these changes should take place?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •